top of page

Please Forgive Me: I´m Loud! I Can´t Whisper But You Know I Love You!


Writing about everyday professional experiences should be the main goal of this blog. However, it has become almost my personal diary where I reflect, wonder, come to conclusions, and express my personal points of view about many things going on around me. I have to admit that I sometimes sin and do all and even more than what everybody tries to avoid doing in a class: I use humor, sarcasm, I do sermon from time to time telling my groups what is right and what is wrong, call to reflection and I laugh at myself, talk about my own children or my past experiences as an international and local teacher.

The same way I admit I may be very strict as regards what discipline is concerned, I give myself a shout out because something I definitely do not do at all, is to discourage a student by failing him/her just because...They know I care, like Eric Sheninger says in his post. I may give more opportunities to those who are not reaching the desired proficiency level than some of my colleagues, but all I know is that my students DO want to be in my class, even though I am loud sometimes or very demanding. Honestly, I do apologize: I don´t whisper. My students like me the way I am, with my positive and negative aspects and I am not bragging about it. They do not feel that negative pressure of making mistakes or forgetting homework or books. They do know what the consequences are but they also know that if they try to have a positive and collaborative attitude, good behavior and they are respectful towards their classmates and adults as well, their status may raise in the "class ranking" at the end of term.


My students know they have a voice in my class and they are valued and appreciated. I have suffered myself a lot by being a very good student but almost never acknowledged as one so I reward those who make a real effort and try to progress daily.



The best of all was that today I read one of those weekly treats I receive from Michael Linsin´s Smart Classroom Management webpage in my inbox today.


"It communicates that you don’t give directions because you like bossing people around—which, based on their experience in the past, is how many students view teachers.

You do it because it’s helpful. You do it because it’s right. You do it because it’s best for them and for maintaining a learning environment where they and their classmates can thrive."

Why would I want to get a bad attitude from a student at this stage of my career? If you feel you are in that position once, please go back to read what I just wrote and follow all Michael Linsin´s wonderful suggestions.



 


bottom of page